Important facts on Indian High Courts. important for comparative exams.

High Courts having jurisdiction over more than one State/Union Territories:

High Court Jurisdiction
Bombay Maharashtra, Goa, Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Daman and Diu
Calcutta West Bengal, Andaman and Nicobar Islands
Guwahati Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Nagaland, Mizoram
Kerala Kerala, Lakshadweep
Madras Tamil Nadu, Puducherry
Punjab and Haryana Punjab, Haryana, Chandigarh

High Courts having benches in other cities:

High Court Benches
Allahabad High Court Lucknow
Bombay High Court Nagpur, Panaji, Aurangabad
Calcutta High Court Port Blair
Guwahati High Court Kohima, Aizawl, Itanagar
Madhya Pradesh High Court Gwalior, Indore
Madras High Court Madurai
Rajasthan High Court Jaipur

High Courts not in state capitals:

High Court Location
Chhattisgarh Bilaspur
Gujarat Ahmedabad
Kerala Kochi
Madhya Pradesh Jabalpur
Odisha Cuttack
Rajasthan Jodhpur
Uttarakhand Nainital
Uttar Pradesh Allahabad

High Courts for Union territories:

Union Territory High Court
Andaman and Nicobar Island Calcutta High Court
Lakshadweep Kerala High Court
Puducherry Madras High Court
Dadra and Nagar Haveli Bombay High Court
Daman And Diu Bombay High Court
Chandigarh Punjab and Haryana High Court
Delhi Delhi High Court

Important points to remember:

  1. The Supreme Court of India came into existence on 28th Jan, 1950 replacing federal Court of India, which had functioned from 1937 to 1950.
  2. The total number of High Court in India is 24.
  3. Three High Courts were inaugurated in March 2013- Meghalaya High Court and Manipur High Court (on 25th March) and Tripura High Court (26th March) in their respective state capitals.
  4. The oldest high Court in India is Calcutta High Court which was set up on 1st July, 1862. It is one of the three Chartered High Court in India along with High Court of Bombay and Madras.
  5. Age limits for High court Judge is up to sixty two years.
  6. Allahabad High Court has the highest number of Judges with 81 Judges.

Law Corner

Leave a Comment